Monday Musings


happiness

 

The weekend was great!  Heck, the whole month has been.  I’m not used to having week after week of good things, but I’m happy to brag that it is occurring in my life.  Percy Shelley said, “the sweetest songs come from the saddest times in life”.  I don’t know if I agree with that anymore.  I’ve *heard* some pretty sweet songs lately and none of them have to do with being sad.  Okay, enough optimism.  Here are the thoughts that have been on my mind lately.  I haven’t even shared them with Glen….Livet that is.

If pitchers are hailed for throwing first strike pitches, then why does everyone lose it when a batter swings at the first pitch?

Isn’t discernment just a nice word for judgment? And what’s the big deal about judging?  If you don’t use your common sense and judge whether something is good or bad then is everything a gamble?

And speaking of morals, what are morals based on?  In speaking with an Atheist this past weekend, he said good and bad are innate.  I don’t agree.  I think that in some cultures, especially ancient ones, it was just fine to kill someone for your god.  It was just fine to take on many wives and not be faithful to only one.  It was just fine to kill your children if you couldn’t afford to feed them.  None of those things were considered wrong, so how could they be immoral?  Are morals a cultural phenomenon then?  I don’t think that either.  I think morals are God-based.

 

What do you think?

 

2 responses to “Monday Musings

  1. OK, time to be serious. If you are Tulo, hell yes, swing at that pitch. If you are a latter day Helton, WTH are you thinking.. Also, speaking of baseball, rattlesnake meat is delish with just hint of butter. Go Rockies!

  2. rattlesnake meat with a hint of butter huh? No Chipotle? No Ancho? No Ghost Pepper? I’m still hoping for a Rockies/Rangers World Series 🙂 Thanks as always!

Leave a Reply

