April is Poetry Month


flaming_june_1895

 

Time got away from me this month. I wanted to feature several of my favorite poems during Poetry Month. Unfortunately, April is almost over.  In my personal case, it’s FORTUNATE because this has been a horrid month for me.

Self portrait poems, like self portrait paintings, are always interesting to me. This one is from Lucie Brock-Broido, published in 2004. I hope you relate to or enjoy it as much as I do.

Self-Portrait with Her Hair on Fire

Now, it is as dark as the pathos of pushing a wheel-
Chair through the museum of a great metropolis.

I cannot tell you this, not now, not ever, even
In the letter I have written that is so epic

That if you were to open it, the pages would sail out
In the wind like confection moths being born

In the thousands out of their sacks, blowing
Away, page by page, in a wind the color of her hair

Across a medieval pillow endlessly scorched,
The singe of something living tinged with fire.

I will go on loving as I love the backs
Of things and the invisible,

As I love the hideous or an attention
So attentive it is next to worshipping.

Leave a Reply

