Love Letters


beethoven love letter

Valentine’s Day is coming. Since I was a little girl, it has always been one of my favorite holidays. I love red. I love pink. I love purple, fuschia, raspberry, and any derivative thereof that connotes romance, love and passion. One of my bedroom walls is a collage of hearts collected or given to me for many years.

Hearts and bright colors are great, but love letters are the best.  I mean the VERY best!  Several years ago I had a stack of love letters from a man I adored.  Didn’t trust him, but adored him.  They were allegorical, they were sexy, they were romantic, they were touching.  Some were “in your face” sexual, others were written with poetic love.  In the recent past,  another dear man to me wrote me several poems….God, it gives me chill bumps to think about it.
I can honestly say I haven’t recieved one since last Valentine’s Day (cue the sad violin music now and don’t think I’ll be receiving one in the next 20 years)  So instead of wallowing in self-pity, I thought I would share some fun facts about Love Letters to inspire you to write one to your beloved or maybe your “soon to be” beloved.

MOST TECHNOLOGICAL LOVE LETTER

In 1952, a team of scientists at England’s University of Manchester was eager to try out its super computer.  One of the scientists created a software program into which he input thousands of nouns, adjectives and verbs.  The result was a heartfelt string of love letters from the computer.

MOST MYSTERIOUS LOVE LETTER

Ahhh Beethoven.  Not the St. Bernard, the Composer.  Though never married, he was faithfully committed to  a woman never identified, but dearly loved by the composer.  When he died, several love letters written to “his immortal beloved” were found.  Alas, she never had the chance to read them.  So sad!

OLDEST KNOWN LOVE LETTER: ISTANBUL #2461

A Sumerian clay tablet inscribed over 3000 years BC is thought to be the beginnings of the Bible’s Song of Solomon.  The tablets reveal two declarations of passion and love.

LOVE LETTERS AMERICAN STYLE

Abigail Adams wrote love letters daily during their courtship and later to her husband John Adams as he was away founding that country we know today as the USA.

Leave a Reply

