Rambling About the Past and the Grammys


The Grammys were announced tonight.  Funny, I used to be so enthralled with this annual announcement as if it were an affirmation of my musical tastes.  I grew up though and realized its just another over-rated accolade to semi-talented musicians who need to sell records.  Or a popularity party.  Or a good lead in for the many mind-numbing celebrity “news” shows that proliferate mainstream television today. (okay, okay, I confess, I love the Black Keys and Mumford & Sons…see?  old habits die hard)

And, as is the way of my mind, that lead to my next thought:   I always wanted to date a musician.  A REAL musician, not the air guitarists of my youth or the John Cusack wannabes with a boombox on their shoulder.  I wanted to be involved with a musician  for his creativity; for his emotional depth; for his poetic talent; but if the truth REALLY be known, (label this next revelation  narcissistic) I wanted to be his romantic muse.  I wanted him to write love songs for me.  Or Goodbye songs.  Or “Wish you Were Here” songs.  I wasn’t looking for the song of the year or even a Top 40 song.  Just one for me 🙂  Which leads  me to this post.  I was playing the piano tonight, showing off for my 16-year-old daughter and 13-year-old son.  This is the song I played.  Then of course, I had to give them the whole history of Simon & Garfunkel and how cool the 70’s were.  Truly, they were.  I was an innocent kid just a few years from becoming a teen,  but this song was beautiful to me even then and it may have been the start of my wishful wanting:

2 responses to “Rambling About the Past and the Grammys

  1. Saw a post today somewhere that showed someone holding a guitar with the caption that went something like, “Dear most Grammy nominees, this is musical instrument. Google it” Kind of highlights why I stopped caring about the Grammy’s. However, this years slate including The Black Keys, Mumford & Sons, the Lumineers & Jack White may cause me to start paying more attention again. (& that Simon & Garfunkel song is awesome…..)

  2. I’m totally with you! Does this mean we’re getting old? You know how things come full circle? OMG, I’m way too philosophical tonight and I’m not even drinking Glenlivet 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

